How to close your account
Only the account holder can request to close an account. This means the person who opened the account is the only person authorised to request closure, and any requests from someone else (even if they have access to the account) will be declined.
Find out how we can help you if you're enquiring about the account of someone who has died.
What you should know before closing your account
- Moving interstate? All Linkt accounts can be used on any toll road in Australia except for an Access account (Melbourne only).
- You don't have to close your account if you just want to remove a vehicle.
- If you have tags, you'll need to return them. Read on below for more information about what to do with your tags when you close your account.
- You can't close an account that is overdrawn, overdue or suspended. Please make a payment to reactivate your account before asking for it to be closed.
- Don't stress about trips you've taken recently. Trips already taken before your account closure will be charged to your account within 7 days of travel.
- You'll no longer be able to access your account online or through the Linkt app. This won't take effect until everything is finalised. If you think you will need your statements in the future, please download them before closing your account.
- Don't forget to cover yourself for travel in the future. If you want to use toll roads after you close your account, make sure you buy a pass or open an account or you may receive a toll invoice.
If you have any funds remaining in your account at the time you request to have it closed, we will issue a refund. The refund will be sent to your payment card if you have one, or your bank account if it is linked. If you don't have a payment method saved, we'll issue a cheque to the postal address listed on your account.
Before you close your account, please log in to your account and update your personal information online to ensure your payment details, mailing address and contact details are correct.
It can take several weeks (depending on your account type) from your initial request for your account to be closed. We can't close your account until we receive your tags by mail so please be patient while we're waiting for your tags to arrive. The whole process can take from 1–2 months, depending on postage services and administration. It can take an additional 28 days for any credit remaining on your account to be refunded after your account is closed.
If there are additional trips or fees that have been processed for your account after the request to close the account has been made, this may affect the amount that is refunded to you.
If you run into any issues along the way please call us on 13 33 31